A lot has happened since my last post

 

 
I completed the story boards for the film by hand and then revised their frame order in Indesign.


I created a basic animatic in After Effects..https://vimeo.com/239963212 which gave me a rough estimate of how long the film would be. I also added sound effects to a selection of the first scene https://vimeo.com/239957320

I created a scene reference chart which helped me understand how many different sets, props, backdrops,  foregrounds and characters I would need for the film.

After completing the processes mentioned above, I considered combining  both 2d and 3d animating techniques to create the final film. Since this possibility came to light, I have been experimenting with both approaches to see if one is better than the other or if they can work well together.  I started with 2d animation because I thought it would be easier. This simply was not the case and instead I endured a steep learning curve as there were many factors I didn’t anticipate. Constructing a functioning and stable set up involving aesthetically pleasing light effects, and limited reflection proved difficult. Below are images of  make-shift multi-level 2d animation tables. Both are made with plexiglass sheets supported by various household items.

These large plexiglass sheets are stacked on yogurt cups and drinking glasses.

These smaller plexiglass sheets are stacked on tea and egg cups. The smaller table was less stable and was bumped accidentally several times sending small items into disorder.

The multiple levels are meant to allow for a greater sense of depth when animating on 2d planes, they also made the set-up very complex and created multiples of unwanted reflections.  Click on the following link if you would like to see an animation test on the mini multi-level table above   https://vimeo.com/239962113  which was created with a trial version of Dragonframe (stop motion software).

I created 2d puppets to animate on these tables. I used waterproof ink pens, watercolour paper, watercolour and acrylic paints, permanent inks, scissors and wood glue.

The bat fish I made were too big for even the large animating table but some of the jellyfish fit into the scene. Smaller puppets would have been more manageable when animating which I will keep in mind when approaching the next set of puppets.

   

  

The neck of the jelly fits into a custom-made envelop on the back of it’s head. The 4 appendages fit into a smaller envelop on the back of the midsection. This allowed it to be animated from at least 5 pivot points. The batfish unfortunately were never put together due to their large size, an oversight on my part before I understood how the table, camera and puppets would work together. To see a very rough animation with jelly fish in it click on the following link  https://vimeo.com/247347813

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment